

The National Tenpin Coaches Association 2019-2020 Preseason Poll

October 1, 2019

Vanderbilt Enters 2019-20 Season as Pre-Season No. 1

Harrogate, TN - Two-time National Champion, Vanderbilt University, enters the 2019-20 season ranked No.1, receiving 18 of 46 first place votes. The Commodores finished the 2018-19 season with a record of 101-37 and posted a 201.6 overall scoring average. Vanderbilt returns NTCA Player of the Year and First Team NTCA All-American, Maria Bulanova for her Senior season. Bulanova posted a 21.09 average per frame (APF) and is joined by Third Team NTCA All-American, Samantha Gainor (20.18 APF). They add Junior Team USA and former U15 Junior Gold Champion, Mabel Cummins, to this year's roster.

The Bearcats of McKendree University received six first place votes and come in ranked No.2. The 2017 National Champion led the country in overall scoring average with 204.3 and won their second MIAA Conference Title in 2019. The Bearcats return NTCA DII/III Player of the Year and First Team All-American, Breanna Clemmer; Second Team All-American, Taylor Bailey; and NTCA DII/III Rookie of the Year and Third Team All-American, Hope Gramly.

Defending National Champion, Stephen F. Austin, received 20 first place votes, however, comes in No.3 overall. In 2019, SFA won their second national championship title in four seasons. The Ladyjacks return Jr.-Sarah Gill (19.63 APF), Sr.-Megan Eaglehouse (19.44 APF) and So.-Carlene Beyer (19.25 APF).

The University of Nebraska are the pre-season No.4. The five-time National Champions return 2018 and 2019 First Team All-American, Raquel Orozco; 2019 Honorable Mention All-American, Allison Morris; and Estefania Prieto (19.5 APF) for their Senior season. The Huskers also add NTCA Honorable Mention All-American, Leah Glazer, via transfer.

Rounding out the top five is last year's Southland Bowling League Champions, Sam Houston State University. SHSU who won their first SBL Championship last season, return NTCA DI Rookie of the Year, Bea Hernandez (20.17 APF); Katelyn Dickerson (19.33 APF), and Hayley Connelly (19.44 APF).

Arkansas State University and the University of Maryland Eastern Shore just miss the top five and come in at No.6 and No. 7 respectively, while the University of North Carolina A&T comes in at No.8. Fairleigh Dickinson University and the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater finish out the top-10 of the preseason poll.

NCAA Bowling competes as a National Collegiate sport, in which, all three divisions compete for one National Championship. NEW THIS YEAR: The national committee will select 16 teams during the post-season selection process. Of those 16 teams, seven will receive automatic qualifiers from winning their Conference Championship (AMCC, CIAA, ECC, MEAC, NEC, Southland, SWAC) and the final nine teams will receive at-large bids. The 16 teams will be seeded into four regional sites with the four regional champions moving on to the 2020 National Championship, April 9-11, 2020, at Thunderbowl Lanes, Allen Park, MI.



The National Tenpin Coaches Association 2019-2020 Preseason Poll

October 1st, 2019

	School, Location, Conference Affiliation	<u>First</u> <u>Place</u> <u>Votes</u>	Points <u>Total</u>	<u>Record</u>	Previous <u>Ranking</u>
1	Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN (SBL)		1671	0-0	2
2	McKendree University, Lebanon, IL (GLVC)		1557	0-0	3
3	Stephen F. Austin State University, Nacogdoches, TX (SBL)		1559	0-0	1
4	University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE (INDEPENDENT)		1438	0-0	4
5	Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX (SBL)		1352	0-0	5
6	Arkansas State University, Jonesboro, AR (SBL)		1338	0-0	6
7	University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Princess Anne, MD (MEAC)		1188	0-0	7
8	North Carolina A&T, Greensboro, NC (MEAC)		1064	0-0	8
9	Fairleigh Dickinson University, Teaneck, NJ (NEC)		958	0-0	Т9
10	University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, WI (CIBC)		828	0-0	Т9
11	Sacred Heart University, Fairfield, CT (NEC)		697	0-0	12
12	University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO (GLVC)		663	0-0	11
13	Lincoln Memorial University, Harrogate, TN (ECC)		573	0-0	16
14	Tulane University, New Orleans, LA (SBL)		539	0-0	14
15	Delaware State University, Dover, DE (MEAC)		531	0-0	15
16	St. Francis University, Loretto, PA (NEC)		452	0-0	13
17	Louisiana Tech University, Ruston, LA (SBL)		438	0-0	22
18	Maryville University, St. Louis, MO (MIAA)		354	0-0	T17
19	University of Alabama Birmingham, Birmingham, AL (MEAC)		335	0-0	T17
20	Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA (NEC)		304	0-0	20
21	Mount Saint Mary's University, Emmitsburg MD (NEC)		282	0-0	19
22	Adelphi University, Garden City, NY (ECC)		209	0-0	21
23	Youngstown State, Youngstown, OH (SBL)		207	0-0	24
24	LIU Brooklyn, Brooklyn NY (NEC)		137	0-0	23
25	Monmouth University, West Long Branch, NJ (MEAC)		57	0-0	25
o roc	eiving points:				

Also receiving points:

<u>Point system:</u> NTCA submitted ballots rank the top 25 programs in the sport of NCAA bowling. Each position has a designated point value, ranging from 40 points for first place and one point for twenty-fifth place. To be ranked teams need to equal or surpass the minimum vote criteria, which is one vote for every eight ballots submitted. The actual ranking position is determined by using the adjusted point standings, which lists in priority order the total points a school has accumulated after the highest and lowest votes are dropped.

The specific point values follow: 1st place = 40 points, 2nd =37, 3rd =35, 4th =33, 5th =31, 6th =29, 7th =27, 8th =25, 9th =23, 10th =21, 11th =19, 12th =17, 13th =15, 14th =13, 15th =11, 16th =10, 17th =9, 18th =8, 19th =7, 20th =6, 21st =5, 22nd =4, 23rd =3, 24th =2, 25th =1.