

The National Tenpin Coaches Association 2017-2018 DII/DIII Preseason Poll

October 4, 2017

McKendree University Voted No.1 in Preseason Poll

BROOKLYN, NY. --- McKendree University of Lebanon, Illinois, was unanimously voted the NTCA DII/DIII pre-season favorite for the second year in a row. As the 2016-2017 NCAA National Champions, the Bearcats are predicted to have another great year. Returning for McKendree will be the reigning NTCA DII/III Rookie of the Year and NTCA DII/III Player of the Year, Breanna Clemmer.

The University of Wisconsin-Whitewater holds the No. 2 position. The Warhawks are the highest ranked Division III program in the preseason poll.

After winning the inaugural Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association Championships last season, the University of Central Missouri, received the third highest ranking.

Back-to-back East Coast Conference Champions, Adelphi University, ranks fourth amongst the other DII/DIII programs represented in this poll. NTCA All-America Second Team recipient, Rebecca Gotterbarn, returns for her final year as a Panther.

Franklin Pierce University of Rindge, New Hampshire rounds out the top five. The Ravens finished their 2016-2017 season with the best record in program history (52-42).

NCAA bowling competes as a National Collegiate sport, in which all three divisions compete for one National Championship. This year's National Championship will be held in St. Louis, Missouri. It will be the first year that automatic qualifiers will take place in the sport of bowling; the six established conference winners will be added to the four schools selected at-large, who will compete for eight spots at the championship.



The National Tenpin Coaches Association 2017-2018 DII/DIII Preseason Poll

October 4, 2017

		W-L	1 st Place Votes	Adjusted Pts	Division
1	McKendree University, <i>Lebanon, IL</i>	0-0	30	616	DII
2	University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, WI	0-0		500	DIII
3	University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO	0-0		496	DII
4	Adelphi University, Garden City, NY	0-0		432	DII
5	Franklin Pierce University, <i>Rindge, NH</i>	0-0		326	DII
6	Lincoln Memorial University, Harrogate, TN	0-0		244	DII
7	Caldwell University, Caldwell, NJ	0-0		193	DII
8	Kutztown University, <i>Kutztown, PA</i>	0-0		190	DII
9	Felician University, <i>Lodi, NJ</i>	0-0		177	DII
10	Maryville University, <i>St. Louis, MO</i>	0-0		173	DII
11	Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC	0-0		150	DII
12	Bowie State University, Bowie, MD	0-0		103	DII
13	Mount Aloysius College, Cresson, PA	0-0		98	DIII
14	Elmhurst College, <i>Elmhurst, IL</i>	0-0		70	DIII
15	Chestnut Hill College, Philadelphia, PA	0-0		44	DII

Also receiving points:

Drury University, *Springfield, MO*; Long Island University-Post, *Brookville, NY*; Molloy College, *Rockville Center, NY*; Virginia State University, *Petersburg, VA*; Wilmington University, *New Castle, DE*

<u>Point system:</u> NTCA voters rank the top 15 Division II and Division III teams on their ballot. Each position has a designated point value, ranging from 22 points for first place and one point for twenty-fifth place. To be ranked teams need to equal or surpass the minimum vote criteria, which is one vote for every eight ballots submitted. The actual ranking position is determined by using the adjusted point standings, which lists in priority order the total points a school has accumulated after the highest and lowest votes are dropped.

The specific point values follow: 1st place = 22 points, 2nd =19, 3rd =17, 4th =15, 5th =13, 6th =11, 7th =9, 8th =8, 9th =7, 10th =6, 11th =5, 12th =4, 13th =3, 14th =2, 15th =1