

## The National Tenpin Coaches Association 2016-17 DII/DIII Final Poll

April 26, 2017

McKendree Dominates DII/DIII Poll

WHITEWATER, Wis. --- The Bearcats of McKendree University claimed the 2017 National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship on Saturday, April 15<sup>th</sup> over Nebraska 4-0. McKendree is the first team in women's bowling history to win the championship in four games and the first Division II program to win the title. Shannon O'Keefe was voted DII/DIII Coach of the Year and Breanna Clemmer was voted both DII/DIII Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year. McKendree received all 24 first place votes and was also voted No. 1 in the NTCA all divisions poll.

The University of Wisconsin-Whitewater edged out the University of Central Missouri to finish second for the DII/DIII poll. The Warhawks finished the season as the highest ranked Division III program and were led by three-time All-America athlete Amanda Van Duyn.

Adelphi University was voted fourth and captured the East Coast Conference Championship (ECC) for the second consecutive year. Rebecca Gotterbarn was named to the NTCA All-America second team.

Rounding out the top five was Franklin Pierce of Rindge, NH. The Ravens were voted 23<sup>rd</sup> in the final all divisions poll.

**END** 



## The National Tenpin Coaches Association 2016-17 DII/DIII Final Poll

April 26th, 2017

		Record	First Place Votes	Previously Ranked (DII/DIII)	Division
1	McKendree University, Lebanon, IL	75-21	24	1	DIVISION
2	University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, Whitewater, WI	59-37		3	DIII
3	University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO	61-38		2	DII
4	Adelphi University, Garden City, NY	67-44		5	DII
5	Franklin Pierce University, Rindge, NH	52-42		7	DII
6	Lincoln Memorial University, Harrogate, TN	37-74		NR	DII
7	Fayetteville State, Fayetteville, NC	54-8		14	DII
8	Caldwell University, Caldwell, NJ	46-51		9	DII
9	Bowie State University, <i>Bowie, MD</i>	52-22		12	DII
10	Maryville University, St. Louis, MO	34-58		11	DII
11	Kutztown University, Kutztown, PA	52-59		4	DII
12	Felician University, <i>Lodi</i> , <i>NJ</i>	52-39		10	DII
13	Elmhurst College, Elmhurst, IL	21-37		6	DIII
14	Mount Aloysius College, Cresson, PA	58-29		NR	DIII
15	Virginia State University, Petersburg, VA	52-31		NR	DII

## Also receiving points:

Chestnut Hill College, Philadelphia, PA; Drury University, Springfield, MO; LIU Post, Brookville, NY; Medaille College, Buffalo, NY; Molloy College, Rockville Centre, NY

## Point system:

NTCA voters rank the top 15 Division II and Division III teams on their ballot. Each position has a designated point value, ranging from 22 points for first place and one point for twenty-fifth place. To be ranked teams need to equal or surpass the minimum vote criteria, which is one vote for every eight ballots submitted. The actual ranking position is determined by using the adjusted point standings, which lists in priority order the total points a school has accumulated after the highest and lowest votes are dropped.

The specific point values follow: 1st place = 22 points, 2nd =19, 3rd =17, 4th =15, 5th =13, 6th =11, 7th =9, 8th =8, 9th =7, 10th =6, 11th =5, 12th =4, 13th =3, 14th =2, 15th =1